Struggling with Recursion in Python - Need Help!

Natali

Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to Python and I've been trying to wrap my head around recursion. I'm working on a function to calculate factorial numbers, but I keep running into a "maximum recursion depth exceeded" error. Here's my code:

Madi

Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to Python and I've been trying to wrap my head around recursion. I'm working on a function to calculate factorial numbers, but I keep running into a "maximum recursion depth exceeded" error. Here's my code:

Hi, Natali! I see the issue. In your recursive call, you're not reducing the problem size. The function keeps calling itself with the same value of n indefinitely. Try decrementing n in the recursive call like this:
Python:
return n * factorial(n - 1)

Rumen

Hi, Natali! I see the issue. In your recursive call, you're not reducing the problem size. The function keeps calling itself with the same value of n indefinitely. Try decrementing n in the recursive call like this:
Python:
return n * factorial(n - 1)
@Madi is spot on. Also, don't forget to handle the case when n is 0. The factorial of 0 is 1, so you should include that in your base case to avoid errors.

Python:
if n == 0:
    return 1
Happy coding!

Konak

Adding to the previous suggestions, it's also a good practice to validate your input to ensure it's a non-negative integer. Factorial is not defined for negative numbers or non-integers, so you might want to add a check at the beginning of your function:

Python:
if not isinstance(n, int) or n < 0:
    raise ValueError("Input must be a non-negative integer")

Pashok

Hey, recursion can be tricky! Your error might be because your base case isn't properly defined. Remember, every recursive function needs a base case to stop the infinite loop. For factorials, your base case should be when n equals 1 or 0.